Peasedown St John village, Somerset
Peasedown St John (commonly referred to as just Peasedown) is one of the largest villages in Somerset. Located on a hilltop roughly four and a half miles southwest of the city of Bath. Peasedown used to be a coal mining village. When the last of the mines was shut in the 1950s it became a dormitory village for both Bath and, to a lesser extent, Bristol. Its size has been increased by substantial developments in the 1960s and 1970s and more recently in the late 1990s.
Archaeological and documentary evidence suggests that the site has been occupied since at least the early Iron Age. There is good evidence of Roman and Saxon villages on the site, the Saxon settlements resulting in several entries in the Domesday Book of 1086. The medieval settlement of Eckweek was excavated in 1989 and now lies under the Peasedown Bypass and Underknoll Road.
Stay at a nearby Holiday Park and keep the kids amused all day! Parks in the vicinity include those at:
Plenty of hotels are available locally. Consider those in the local towns:
There's plenty more to explore in this area, too! Find more attractions and things to do nearby: